Department Of Medicine Faculty Members Elected To The Association Of American Physicians

Two members of the faculty of the Department of Medicine, Drs. Andrew J. Dannenberg and Jane E. Salmon, were elected to membership in the Association of American Physicians (AAP) at its annual meeting in Chicago on April 25-27. 2008.

The AAP, founded in 1885, annually recognizes 55 individuals who have attained preeminence in medical research. Elected members have included Nobel laureates and members of the National Academy of Science, and encompass all field of medicine. As described in its official history, "today, the Association continues to serve as a repository of the best medical minds and as a forum to promote friendship, to create and disseminate knowledge, and to provide role models for upcoming generations of physicians and medical scientists."

Dr. Dannenberg is the Henry R. Erle, MD-Roberts Family Professor of Medicine in the Department of Medicine (Gastroenterology) and was recently appointed Director of the nascent Cancer Center of Weill Cornell Medical College and New York-Presbyterian Hospital/Weill Cornell Medical Center. He has made seminal contributions to our understanding of cyclooxygenase (COX-2) as a new target for cancer prevention and treatment. Dr. Dannenberg has previously received the Upjohn Achievement Award for scientific research, the American Liver Foundation Scholar Award and the Life Sciences Research Foundation Award. He has also been elected to membership in the American Society for Clinical Investigation.

Dr. Salmon is Professor of Medicine and the Collette Kean Research Professor at the Hospital for Special Surgery. Her research focus has been on elucidating mechanisms of tissue injury and pregnancy loss in lupus and other autoimmune diseases. Dr. Salmon is on the Board of Directors of the American College of Rheumatology, has been Councilor of the Clinical Immunology Society, co-editor of Arthritis and Rheumatism, recipient of the Henry Christian Award for Excellence in Research from the American Federation for Clinical Research and the Carol Nachman Prize in Rheumatology, and elected member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation.

Top of page